Vegas 2008 – Convention Report Part 1

Hey everyone! I finally got around to posting this convention report I typed over Labor Day weekend while on my last camping trip of the summer. I had plenty of time to write while I was in the middle of nowhere, so I’m going to break this post up into several parts. For part 1, we’ll have my report on my day at the convention from the beginning through Walter Koenig’s stage appearance.

Greetings from the middle of nowhere!

It took me so long to recover from Vegas that I haven’t had time to write my report from the convention until 3 weeks later. Well, maybe being in the middle of nowhere on a camping trip with no cell phone signal has helped me find the time to write.

I was only able to make it to the convention on Saturday. I couldn’t get to Vegas until Thursday (well, early Friday morning was more like it) and spent Friday cruising around the strip with my boyfriend, and a good part of Friday afternoon I was at the Star Trek Experience for one last time (more on that in another post).

But I was at the convention all day Saturday. Got there bright and early at 9 am to see Salome Jens on stage. She played the female changeling on DS9, and I remember one cute question from a little kid asking her how she did the whole shape shifting trick, to which her response was, “magic”.

Not long after Salome Jens came Nicole DeBoer, who played Ezri Dax on DS9. She was limping back and forth across the stage because of a sprained toe, something to do with her husband not putting the stroller back right. But despite having to limp back and forth between the microphones, she answered a lot of questions from the audience.

I found it interesting when she said that Nicole had not seen DS9 prior to getting the role of Ezri, and did not talk to Terry before she started working on the show either. She also mentioned that when she first started working with Avery Brooks she always called him Avery. When another person who had been with the show for a long time (can’t remember exactly who, someone behind the scenes) overheard her doing this, he told her not to call Avery Brooks by just his first name, even if she was working with him, Mr. Brooks did not like it. I made a point of remembering the moral of this little story when I later met Mr. Brooks that afternoon.

After Nicole DeBoer finished on stage, the dealer room opened up, and Jeffery Combs and J.G. Hertzler were on stage together, but I missed most of their talk because I ran over to the dealer room to buy some autograph tickets and to see who else was there. Chase Masterson and Max Grodénchik were there signing autographs. Chase didn’t have much of a line so I got her autograph first and got it on a photo of Leeta and Rom. Then I took my photo over to the other line and also got it autographed by Max. Unlike the autograph line I waited in at my first convention, the celebrities signing in the dealer’s room were really happy to chat with the fans for a few moments, shake your hand, personalize autographs, and all that good stuff. I chatted with Chase for a few moments as she didn’t have much of a line, but Max was a little more on the shy side and had a longer line, so I didn’t get much of a chance to chat.

After the dealer’s room I got back to the main auditorium where Jeffery Combs and J.G. Hertzler were just finishing up. I somewhat regret missing most of them on stage, as what I did catch was a whole lot of fun. J.G. Hertzler even jumped off stage at one point when he saw a fan in a full Klingon outfit. I dunno if they butted heads or something like that, it was kinda hard to see from where I was.

Later Walter Koenig was on stage, and there were lots of questions about Chekov’s character and how he wasn’t really fleshed out very well and was added at the last minute, and would Walter have liked to see more character development in Chekov. There were a few Babylon 5 questions, as Walter did a great job playing the role of Bester on that show. There was also a question from a fan about a line that Walter had in Star Trek VI, when they are on the bridge just before the Enterprise fires on the Klingon ship and Kirk asks Chekov if he’s detecting something on sensors, and Chekov answers, “Only the size of my head”. The line was so well done that the fan wanted to know if Walter had improvised it, but he had not. Like many other actors on stage that day, he mentioned that they were very strict about following the script and you had to go upstairs to get permission to change it.

And probably my favorite question from a fan was when someone went up and started asking questions about the “Nuclear Wessels” scene in Star Trek IV. Walter immediately caught on that she wanted him to say *that* line, jokingly complained that people always want him to say that line, and then said it. The crowd laughed and applauded in appreciation, and Walter mentioned that they were going to put that line on his tombstone.

Well, that’s all for right now.   Part two will start off with the stage appearances from some writers and continue through my trip to the dealer’s room. Part 3, I’m sure that’s what you’ve been waiting for, will cover the stage appearances of Avery Brooks and Alexander Siddig.

Live long and prosper,

=/\= TrekkieGirl

Leave a Reply

